Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ichneumon Wasp

One of our larger families of solitary, predatory wasps, numbering over 4,000 just in the US and into the tens of thousands worldwide.  This little guy (and yes, I am fairly certain it is a male) measured maybe 1/3 inch and didn't stay still for long.  I believe he is in the Genus Pimpla but can't narrow it down any further without a dorsal shot, which I didn't get.  Anyway, he's another new yard species for me!  The rewards of poking about in the vegetation. 

Unfortunately, I was wearing shorts while poking about in the shady areas and came back with at least 10 mosquito bites!  Nasty little buggers.

The day started with pancakes, one of Hubs' specialities.  Then a nice long FT chat with my parents and then some pottering time outside.  And then a quick trip to buy a few more plants for the garden - salvia, hyssop and lantana - all designed to keep the pollinators happy.  I will do the planting in the morning when it is cooler.

The fiber optic crew is still working on the Lane.  And today's dark us something my parents sent - with an almond creme filling!  Delicious.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.