If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Grey Squirrel ( Sciurus carolinensis )

Yes, I know they are one of the animals I really do not like, coming from one of the few areas which still have Red Squirrels Greys are a major threat to their existence.  However working on the "when in Rome" principle I have decided to use this shot, besides it gives me an excuse for a good rant!

This morning I had a visit to the Wolesley Reserve.  Nothing happening with Kingfishers and the only other photographer there was a very talkative man from yesterday.  I didn't want to hear the same things yet again, he had told every new person who came along exactly the same things, so I moved on.

As I headed for the visitors centre thinking of either ice cream or coffee I came across this individual sitting on a wall munching bird food.  Pictures of Red Squirrels with the horrible squirrel pox, which is virtually always fatal, floated through my mind.  For those who don't know Greys carry Squirrel Pox and are immune to it.  It is very infectious to Reds causing a lot of suffering before eventual death.  This is why there are very few places in the UK with Red Squirrels and Greys seem to be everywhere.

To make matters worse when I got into the visitors centre the shop was selling......      Squirrel food!   What on earth is a conservation organisation doing helping these invasive destructive pests?   Apart from the killing of our native Reds Greys do lots of damage to forestry, having different habits and diet from Reds which do not cause much damage.

Sorry rant over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.