pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A few house jobs

As usual I have kept myself busy. Had another early morning, but dozed until 8. I decided, as I stumbled over the enormous pile of my winter clothes on the floor, that putting them in the bag for the loft was my first job. So I did that as soon as I was dressed.

Downstairs we had breakfast and I started to plan my triangles. The fabric I have is very very old, and threadbare across most of it. It is my nannas kitchen curtains. I suspect they hung at her kitchen window for more than 50 years. Possibly longer. They may have been the only kitchen curtains she ever had. It is a shame for me that they are so full of holes, but good they did their job for so long. I did get distracted a few times - at one point I found myself nextdoor, and ended up cleaning and decluttering/tidying the kitchen. I had only gone in to see if there was any red doorstep paint! I didn't find any, but did find the black in our garage, which lead me to paint our front and side steps. They started as a plain grey concrete slab.

Eventually I got back to my bunting. It was gone 11 so I made coffee first! Then started to cut out the triangles. It was hard to find enough fabric where the whole triangle didn't gave holes in it. I did some very small ones, which should end up as very tiny 2 inch pennants, and some bigger. I will start sewing Thursday. Hopefully my bunting will be done before we go to Scotland.

Jon and Henry got back at just after 3, having made good time. We had a cup of tea in the garden and I was distracted yet again.

We made pizza for dinner, and after prepping veg, I almost finished cutting. Eventually finished my last triangle a moment ago! Talk about make a job drag out. I didn't finish the ironing, so that's still sitting about.

Watching University Challenge now. Jeremy Paxman's final episode. I didn't realise he had been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease. He has been a good presenter. Sometimes a bit abrupt or condescending but that is what gives him his character. I hope he has time to enjoy his retirement while he has reasonably good health.

It has been a nice long weekend doing home things. Really not looking forward to work tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.