Marionb

By Marionb

The Pink City...

They don't call it the Pink City for nothing...

Toulouse.."pink at sunrise, red by noon and purple at sunset" says the brochure for the 10th Rencontre of Urban Sketchers in Toulouse 2013... hinting strongly as to what colours one would want to bring to Toulouse in one's palette! 

Since arriving on Saturday, I had noticed an unusual number of people  sketching...I mean, yes, Toulouse would be the perfect place for artists to paint, right? Just think of those fabulous rich colours..those pinks, reds, oranges, and terracottas! .....but THAT many sketchers? They were everywhere! (extra)

Well, because I was curious and also had the nerve to approach one of them, I discovered that for the last four days, Toulouse has been hosting a gathering of over 900 urban sketchers from France, Spain, the UK and elsewhere! Incredible! Who knew? 900! 

The woman I had approached was a font of information; she told me a lot about this international community of urban sketchers, and even recommended that I follow online and perhaps even take workshops from two of her favourite artists in the UK. She then sent me over to the nearby headquarters of the event to find out more.. which I did..  And....I discovered that there is a chapter of this group in Toronto, Ottawa, Montreal, Vancouver, and Victoria!!  How did I not know that? 

What a day! I am now even more motivated to get my sketchbook out of my backpack and plop myself down on a bench and sketch! But not today..it was too hot and late in the day and I just needed to get back to the hotel and have a wee nap. But..I did at least find a painterly souvenir to take home..( extra) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.