Tea Anyone?

I know I know, I am supposed to be getting rid of things..especially dishes! I have more dishes than I would need if I were in the catering business! Some of my English china sets have sentimental value in that they were my grandmother's and my mother's..and then of course, I have  "good" sets and "everyday" sets of my own, and some antique sets I have picked up along the way.. There is not an inch of space for any more dishes in this house, but....

When someone said  "Would you like a couple sets of china dinnerware that belonged to my mother?", my eyes lit up!  This someone was the sister of my good friend and neighbour Elaine. Neither one of them wanted to keep the dishes and they were about to send them to the Salvation Army Thrift Store..but then thought that I might like them instead. 

How could I resist? The tea set for four won my heart at first sight...It is  Limoges china by J.Pouyat and is in perfect condition..missing only one piece..the sugar bowl! Ever so elegant...The other is a dinner set for four...called Eagle China made in Austria..and ever so charming! I just loved the dainty floral pattern...

But where to store them? Well, there was a price to pay..I had to let go of some of my fun pieces that were not of sentimental value to make room..so off to the Salvation Army they went..And then I thought, rather than have such lovely things stored out of sight, I figured I would start displaying them - rotate them as I do my quilts..

So, for the first time, my mantel is covered in Limoges china! Might look weird to some folks, but I don't care. I like to sit here and admire it..and seeing it up there makes me think I really should have an afternoon tea..and USE it - imagine! What a concept! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.