Marionb

By Marionb

Fermé?

I started my day at the Marché Victor Hugo..and quel surpris, other than this woman patiently waiting at the Charcuterie counter, I was the only customer in the place! Oops..too early! I hadn't checked the time!  No problem. I only wanted a baguette..and they were ready...

After breakfast, I headed over to the Basilica Saint Sernin hoping to get there before the crowds and take some photos..and hoping for no scaffolding - the ever-present obstacle to photography in these amazing places that are, fortunately for all of us, being maintained and restored. A special surprise this time? The scaffolding that had frustrated me back in 2019, was now removed and under it? Voilà! A beautiful 11th century fresco now restored! Wonderful to see the results of all that work. (extra)

I was hoping to get in to the nearby Chapelle des Carmélites on my way home to gaze in amazement once again at its fabulous ceiling, but alas, it was not open..was I too early again? Or is it "fermé au public pour des travaux"? That happens a lot around here! 

But next door, was an interesting looking building I had never paid attention to in the past ...hmmm.. The Bilbiothèque d'etude et du patrimoine....with an exhibit of some sort? Worth a look! And..it was open! And..quel surpris..an awesome building and a totally unexpected fun exhibit of pop-up art! (extra) 

In the afternoon, my sister and I had planned to revisit the Bemberg Foundation Modern Art and Decorative Art museum in a beautiful mansion, which in itself is "a masterpiece of the Renaissance" and houses "a panorama of Western art from the end of the Middle Ages to the early 20th century on display in old-fashioned salons surrounded by period furniture." Who could ask for more? 

Alas...We arrived only to find that it was closed for renovations! An announcement we had somehow missed in our research? What a let-down!

Also still closed for its renovations? Our other favourite ..the Musée des Augustins...Drat! 

In light of these major closures, our timing for this visit to Toulouse perhaps has not been impeccable? No matter..Our challenge now will be to find some new attractions..Who knows? Perhaps we will find some lesser-known and perhaps unexpected treasures..Things like that happen around here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.