Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Kingfishers Again

Knowing places would be busy on a Bank Holiday, we stayed in the caravan and I got on with some admin on the laptop. I had people wanting courses and someone wanting to hire the studio and I really hate trying to answer emails on a phone.

Mid-afternoon I felt I had caught up with work and we went out to the nearby nature reserve to see the kingfishers again. Unlike the fleeting ones we see on the canal from the boat, these ones sit for periods of about 15 minutes.

Please don't worry that were disturbing birds at their nest site, which is illegal, we are all well away using at least 400mm lenses. It's the shrieking paddle boarders that are more likely to disturb them. If the Wildlife Trust thought we were disturbing them they would simply close the walkway.

I think when we go back I'll up my ISO and try for a better flying shot than the one in Extras. A speed of 1/4000 would be better for freezing wingbeats. The other I've put in Extras is to demonstrate the appearance you also get with the laughing of their family members, the kookaburras. 

On our way home we went to Rugely and bought some fish & chips for an easy tea. Well, we are on holiday, after all. We were disappointed that the local pub wasn't doing food on Mondays, not even on a Bank Holiday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.