Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Biddulph Grange

Today we decided to make use of our NTS membership and went to  Biddulph Grange about an hour's drive from where we are staying. It was a garden of many "rooms" and combined formal and wild with terraces, tunnels and stumperies. Wonderful! The Extra shows the garden's formal side.

I was drawn to the many rocky areas with cool shade and ferns. It was a sloping site with many steps, formal or slabs of rocks. I was glad I had taken my monopod as the Victorians didn't think gardens needed handrails!

On the way back to the caravan we stopped for a meal at The Plume of Feathers, Barlaston, owned by Neil Morrisey. We often moor beside it in the boat and use the nearby shop. It was good to actually go in tonight. The menu was varied and they serve meals all day long. It far surpassed my expectation of a pub meal. We'll definitely go there again!

A great day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.