River of Flowers

By doffy

Spring Bank Holiday Monday

We had a lie-in this morning until 6:30am.
Another day of bright sunshine and a chilly northeasterly breeze, around 15°C and perfect to dry the washing :-)
The raspberry flowers are now fully open, there were a few bees busy pollinating these flowers this morning : 
NO BEES = NO FRUIT ... ANYWHERE !!
I let all sorts of flowers grow amongst my "crops". Yes, there's a Red Campion growing next to the raspberries and YES it's covered in black fly, these blackfly (and greenfly) are an important food for ladybirds & other insects and small birds. 
Slugs are also welcome in my garden, food for the hedgehogs :-)
I have never used weedkiller in my garden, I didn't think it was safe for my children. The garden is still chemical free and I feel I'm doing my little bit for our planet which is in such a sorry state ... I’m sure everyone has read about the different types of pollution - our UK government in Westminster are very slow to take any sort of action: allowing water companies to discharge sewage makes me so angry … and is just one example of environmental destruction which is not being challenged!
A very pleasing scene for me this afternoon was to watch a very young fledgling blackbird scratching around in the homemade compost I’d spread on a deep bed yesterday, it’s Dad was sitting in the damson tree above it chirping encouragement and keeping watch for any predators - this is why I garden the way I do! :-))
The garden is very dry, no rain for the last few weeks - I’m putting water in large saucers for the birds and any other wildlife which needs a drink. Two of our water butts ( https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2192038869619181917  )still have water in them - I only use mains water for the wildlife if the butts are empty.
MrD went for a ride in the mountains on his motorbike.
This evening we saw another hedgehog in the garden, much bigger than the one we saw last night. Tonight’s might have been the one I saw a couple of weeks ago. I put a few cat biscuits on a saucer and the hedgehog ate them then went foraging amongst the raspberry canes, then climbed a low wall to drink from a saucer of water I’d filled for the birds. Whilst I was watching the hedgehog there were bats and moths flying around and I heard an owl too :-)
Nos da pawb / goodnight all xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.