Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Catching the Light

It’s a better day today - thank goodness. And thank you so much for your kindness yesterday. 

It’s another Liverpool appointment - dermatology, so therefore ongoing treatment rather than ‘investigations’. My ‘old’ consultant has retired, and as her replacement is off ill, I’m seen by a lovely young registrar who’s probably younger than my sons - a little disconcerting. But here’s the thing - he actually spends most of the consultation just taking about me and how I’m coping mentally, physically and emotionally. There’s always a strong focus here in this department on just how these illnesses impact in your quality of life, but today it’s taken to another level - and it’s exactly what I need. 

We look at pain management - pain is limiting me so much right now - and he prescribes both slow release low-dose morphine and the ‘break through’ pain liquid variety for when I need it. I’ve had both before, so I’ve no concerns about addiction, just grateful as I’m sure they’ll make a difference. He asks whether I feel antidepressants would help  - something I’ve never had, but would consider as I feel so low. But I decide to try a month with better pain management before reviewing my emotional well-being once more. I feel so much better having had the chance to talk, and knowing I’ve got something to resort to when the pain gets bad is liberating. 

G and I even manage lunch in a country pub on our return trip, sitting outside enjoying the warm sunshine (complete with my trusty ‘go-everywhere’ cushion so I can sit down!)

So as for blip ….. well, I’ll probably do a catch up for now with stars rather than comments, and will drop in and out as the mood takes me over the next few weeks. Generally - as you will be aware - it’s photography that keeps me going, and I enjoy the writing element as well. But at times, it’s just too much - so there may just be a photo with no words, and comments may be fewer ……. and that’s all fine, I know. 

Today’s blip is of the tiny backlit bellflowers or campanula growing on our wall which catch my eye just as we arrive home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.