flavia13

By flavia13

ST PAUL'S

I had planned to go to a place called Great Urswick today to see a lovely church there recommended by CumbriaLass.  However on reflection as the weather is so warm and my air con in the car is not yet fixed (that will start tomorrow I thought I'd defer it until next week.

As there are still loads of people about due to it being half term I didn't fancy travelling too far so I just popped into town.  I thought as I'm doing a photographic project on cburches I ough to take some of our own parish church, St  Paul's .  We actually have 3 churches in the town centre, St Paul's Parish 'Church as well as one Methodist church and one Catholic church.

Now St Paul's isn't easy to photograph on the outside as it's on a hill, on a bend and quite high, but I managed this shot with a wide angle lens and crossing the road.

I had trouble getting parked today.  I always park at Hampsfell Car Park but today it was full, so I scooted on down to Kents Bank Road Car Park, along with two others who couldn't get parked.  I got the last space but that was in the shade, yeah.  I went to pay and the machine wasn;t working so I got parked for free!!!!!!   Parking can be difficult at the moment as one car park is closed and another only half is available.  

After that I popped into the Library to see Seppo's exhibition, good photos,  the bird ones in particular are terific.  Then went to the church.   Well I walked in, sat down at the back as I usually do,  sorted my bag out went to sit and reflect when it came to my attention  that there was service going on in the far right of the church and they were all in prayer.  So I waited very quietly, said the Lord;s Prayer with them then when they were taking communion silently slipped out.  

I then went for a walk up to  Hampsfell car park and the little woods behind it, down into town and to Thyme Out for coffee.  After that I went back to the church and was greeted by a lovely lady, who said therre was a meeting going on after the service but that I was more than welcome to look around.  I checke that this wouldn't disturb anyone and then proceeded to look around.  I have photogrpahed it before but not for a while so it needed to be added to my project.

I've put togther a collage in extras and will make a  postcard with information about the church on it at some point .

That's all from me for now, do take care and stay safe and I wll see you all tomorrow.

Oh this is my entry for W I D E WEDNESDAY with many thanks to RockArea for hosting.  The theme being "a bit of red"- well there is a red sign in the far right hand corner so I'm hoping that wlll count!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.