Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

NO TIME FOR HOUSEWORK TODAY - OR TOMORROW!

I think I may be suffering from Chorephobia - the fear of doing housework, although I did clean the kitchen sink well this morning!

However, we had new friends coming from Church for coffee and a chat, so I made sure that all the flies were gone from the conservatory windowsill - not that they would have noticed, but I felt better having done it!  We then spent a lovely time with Christine and Mike, getting to know them better - as there is never enough time after Church on a Sunday morning to get to know people.

When they went, we had a quick lunch and I then went to collect Louise, on my far left, a friend from our previous Church who now comes to Gorse Hill Baptist Church, to take her with me to see Gill, in the middle - another friend from our previous Church, but who occasionally comes to GHBC.  

We hadn’t seen one another for a while, so it was good to be able to chat and to catch up about our grown-up children.  Louise and I are both retired, but Gill is still working with patients who need “End of Life” care in the community, so it was good to chat with her and she even tempted us with some of her delicious banana loaf - I had lost some weight this week, and it would have been rude to refuse, wouldn’t it?  She also packed some up for Louise and me to take home for our husbands!

Just as we were leaving, Gill’s daughter, Rachel, rang from India, where she is working with a charity, so we also had a quick chat with her.  A good day for chatting but not doing housework - but perhaps tomorrow - whoops, almost forgot, I’m meeting another friend tomorrow I haven’t seen for a few years, so the morning’s out as far as housework is concerned!  Perhaps I really should consider getting a cleaner!

I was looking for a good phobia to share with you and saw this one - I absolutely hate balloons - and our boys knew this so whenever they had one, they would chase me round the house when they were younger, holding it tightly to themselves and hoping it popped!  I never knew there was a word for the phobia though.

GLOBOPHOBIA - a fear of balloons and COULROPHOBIA - a fear of clowns. 
The level of fear varies from person to person and can range from avoiding being near balloons to avoiding places with balloons altogether. In some people, the fear is so great that even seeing a balloon on television triggers intense anxiety. This rare fear can be especially hard for young children, as balloons are often present at children’s birthday parties. Globophobia is usually brought on by a traumatic experience with a balloon as a child, such as popping a balloon and being frightened by the noise. It can also be linked to Coulrophobiaa fear of clowns as the two are often found together.


P.S. Out for Worship Group Practice this evening, so probably not many comments tonight.  M xx 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.