TrishaR

By TrishaR

Absolute Legend

What a day!  What a man !

We left Perth about 1:30 and parked up somewhere near Corstorphine and once in the Haymarket area we looked for a place to get a bite to eat.  The pubs and restaurants near the train station were mobbed.  The weather was hot and sunny so plenty people spilling out on to the streets like abroad!

We walked further away from the station and it got quieter and went into Thomsons bar for a beer , a good few Springsteen fans and his music playing inside too.We walked down a little and got a carry out Greek gyros and did something I hate doing, walking and eating Lol!  We started walking towards the stadium as the fan village opened at 4:30.  Crowds were making their way up the road.

Stopped off in a coffee shop which was also a plant/flower shop and had coffee and cake .  I just can’t be bothered standing beside crowds of folks standing with pints and as I don’t drink alcohol anyway really (changed days since my drunken 30s) I’d rather have a seat in the coffee shop and will be standing plenty this evening!

We got to the ground around 5.  I wanted a good spot at the 2nd level standing and got a good place at the Scottish flag (west) side.  Not in the sun.  We had 2 hours before it started - but it’s Bruce so who cares about that.:D

Bruce came on at 1857 and with a One, two, three they launched into No Surrender, and for three hours the stadium rocked! Between 60 to 65k people in the Murrayfield stadium.

I had an emotional, tearful moment when he came in at first, I worship the ground he walks on.  Seeing and hearing him in the flesh for the first time since Hamden 2016 just made me fill up.  He is amazing, his voice, the words and also his stamina.  What 73 year old can perform to this level for 3 hours .  He had the whole place rocking!  He sounded fabulous, as did the magnificent E Street Band.  There were a few poignant melancholy moments , when before Last Man Standing he told us of the recent death of one of the band members of his first group he joined hence why he is the Last Man Standing.  

Then the last song with just him and his guitar , I’ll See you in my Dreams.  Tears.  Thank you for a brilliant concert Bruce.

I’ve had a lazy day today (Wednesday) .  I’ve been listening to the videos I took, reading some reviews and also reading comments from some of the Springsteen FB groups I’m in.  

I couldn’t enjoy an artist more than I do Bruce.  He is up there with the best of them.  The man and the music.  Long live Springsteen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.