Bom

By Bom

Cornflower and Bud

Another cold day at 11C with occasional drizzle. This morning after my Sainsbury's delivery, I went to an interesting talk at the library called 'A Tale of Two Ganseys'. Fishermen in Sheringham had their own style of navy jumper called a Norfolk Gansey, which only the fishermen wore. They had a rougher one and a much finer one for best which had about 13 stitches to the inch, so c310,000 stitches in a Gansey. The basic style was the same, but each family or individual had their own pattern. I loved the names for the component parts of the design; a 'mesh' pattern with the 'Betty Martin' stitch; 'lightening & hailstones'; and 'seeds & bars'. If you're interested, there's more here with some lovely old photos:
http://www.northfolk.org.uk/ganseys/index.html

For my record: 
This afternoon I did battle with Anglian Windows again. Instead of discussing my needs, they just keep making assumptions, so the window was changed from having none to one trickle vent. I think finally got through to them by telling them to assume I convert half the double garage, what would the window need by regulation - as I guessed the answer is two! So they are coming tomorrow having fitted two trickle vents before they leave. I've made sure the access they need in the garage is clear, and in the house to adjust the hinges on existing windows. 

I also had a moan to Canon over their lens cashback offer. Wex told me both my lenses qualified; I looked at the lenses included on the offer site and confirmed that both were included; the website said you can claim for up to 5 lenses; but the form only allowed you to claim for one. They rang me back this afternoon and you can claim for 5 lenses - but only one per recently purchased camera - so 5 lenses if you bought 5 cameras!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.