Bom

By Bom

View Through the New Window

A busy day today, still cold at 12C with a northerly wind, although we did get some weak sun from 5:45. Anglian Windows arrived early, but fortunately I was already ready for them. The new window had had two vents installed before they left the depot, but unfortunately it’s missing two cover bits on one vent, so someone is finishing the job on Monday. I also spotted after they left that there’s a small dink in the frame near one vent that needs touching up. I’ll also ask them about whether a bit of filler is needed at the top inside. I do like it being a picture window. 

I had more of an issue with them checking and adjusting the existing frames on the bungalow. I’d got the salesman to include this on the order and the surveyor to clarify that it was frames (not frame) on his report. That didn’t get notified to the installers, so they had to ring for permission to proceed. They were told no, as not on the order, then they got another call 5 mins later to tell them to proceed. I’d asked for the check as a couple of windows were tight to shut and one I struggled to shut in the heatwave last Summer. He successfully adjusted two, removed a faulty window limiter on a third (they didn’t have one on them), but another could not be properly adjusted and he said it had probably always been like this. It only took him 15 mins. Later I had the call about finishing the work on Monday and the man said the windows were out of warranty so they wouldn’t do the remaining adjustments. I said I know they are, which is why it was a condition of me accepting the quote for the garage window. Then he said the wording was that they would inspect the windows! He even had the cheek to ask for the full remaining payment and to say I was a valued customer! Upshot is they’ll look at everything on Monday and I held back £70 on the payment. 

I managed to wash, dry and iron all the voiles, clean the inside of all the windows, put 1 coat of paint on all the window sills including in the garage, and put the voiles back up. And watch the French Open obvs! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.