Platinum Jubilee

With wonderful timing, the weather turned, the temperature rose and the sun came out for the first day of the Queen's Platinum Jubilee. I really enjoyed watching on tv the Trooping of the Colour, the balcony appearance, the crowds in the Mall and the spectacular flypast. I can't begin to imagine the complexity of planning the fly past, with lots of different types of aircraft flying from different bases, including everything from slow helicopters to the super fast red arrows. Well done to all involved.

This afternoon I walked into town to see the Jubilee proclamation from our town crier, the unveiling of jubilee slates (will blip another time), an amazing jubilee cake and with lots of people in a good mood any many wearing union jacks or red/white/blue. I've added a collage of photos from the event as an Extra, but this little corgi at the bottom of the cake had to be my main blip! Tonight I'll go back into town for the lighting of our 'beacon' (which is tiny), celebratory fireworks and more live music. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.