JennyOwen

By JennyOwen

At the Walk-In

Some tell-tale sore and itchy patches on my skin - just on one side of the body - and then a few emerging spots... this all sent me to the NHS Walk-In Centre this afternoon (our local GP being closed on a Thursday afternoon).
Yes: shingles, as I suspected. I came away with a prescription for some anti-viral tablets, and hope that they will help. Apparently they can prevent it spreading and getting worse.
Fingers crossed. At the moment, it's not too bad.
The Walk-In Centre was crowded, as I knew it would be, but well-organised. I think the visit took roughly 3 hours, all told: booking in, waiting, being triaged, waiting, being seen. Such are my fears about disintegration in the NHS, I was just relieved to be seen and looked after.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.