CrocusMan

By TonyG

Lily

Along the bed under the front window, just outside the front door, I planted a few things dug out of the old garden in Norfolk on one of my last visits there.  They've languished in this holding bed for almost three years but as I finally work on developing this much smaller garden, I hope to find them slightly better spots.   This lily, one of the martagon tribe, is one I raised from seed sown maybe ten years ago.  This year it has a lot more flower buds than ever before.  Hopefully I will capture it's full glory before I head off to Switzerland where I have seen Martagon Lilies in flower but it's a bit early for them there.

Assorted chores done and the allotment watered before a trip to Dolgellau for an appointment for Jamie this afternoon.  On our return I found a little time - when I should really have been doing housework - to begin assembling the display of clay sea creatures I made recently and to design a pattern for carving into the vase I started last night.  The evening saw a trip to Rhydyronen taking Mum to visit Jane and John.  We had a caravan there for over thirty years and for most of the last decade J & J were near neighbours.   While Mum chatted John and I took Meg up the lane ... and searched in vain in the ball field for the missing ball.  Meg seems fine but there may be problems ahead, albeit they took months to develop when she swallowed a smaller rubber ball a couple of years back.   I still find it hard to believe she has swallowed Bella's ball .... but it remains lost :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.