Jubilee

No surprise perhaps that the man who lives where he's taken holidays for over fifty years is contented to leave things unchanged!   Not an ardent royalist but the prospect of President Boris and the previous incumbent in the US do not appeal as a better alternative.  I enjoy the sense of plugging into the past that travelling and working on this Victorian railway gives me.  Our Royal Family, with it's imperfections like all families, is also an example of living history.   I'll settle for that.

A work day for me.  I missed the arrival of the double-headed Jubilee Special on it's up journey.  Here it is drawing to a stop on it's return, about to disgorge a mass of hungry passengers, setting the scene for a very busy day.

Getting home involved a short backtrack after I passed a man and his dog walking up the road towards Abergynolwyn.  Much of it is narrow, bendy, up and down, no footpath and the traffic speeds along.  Madness to walk along it really.  I didn't use those words when I picked him up and he cheerfully informed me that he'd walked down to Tywyn this morning and enjoyed a drink or two at the seafront pub.   I dropped him where there were wide verges all the way back to Aber.   Was I worried for him or his Alsatian?   Maybe the news that a close friend said goodbye to her beloved dog today made me think twice after I first passed my man.

Writing this late in the evening.  Katie stayed for tea after her dog-sitting but is now waiting a call back from 111 medics about a little problem that may need looking at.   I'm on standby for a trip to the other Aber where the nearest A&E is based.  I've said it before - Life is never dull.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.