A day in the life

By Shelling

Summergate

The cows are all gone on holiday to some of their summer grazing, the open gate to their pen is a symbol of summer.

My day has been spent outdoors mostly, despite the somewhat chilly wind, still haunting us. Tomorrow it will ease down and swing from north to southwest, which is a good sign of a milder wind-content. This morning I found that the Aquilegia vulgaris that I stole from my old place, has become two, of different colours. Very pretty together. Shoe-cleaning was next on the list. My winter shoes has been cleaned and the leather ones has been well treated with new smearing, ready for storage. 

The planting I promised for today has taken place. The Hortencia, the two roses and the tomato-plants has either found a home in the ground or been repotted into bigger pots. A guest arrived when I had my coffee on the porch, it crashed into me and fell onto the ground. Maybe they can't see very well, I am rather big. It's a Cetonia aurata, or 'Grassgreen Goldbug', as we call it, in direct translation, you can call it what you like.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.