Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Tiger

A longer walk up onto the higher moors seemed a good way to enjoy the continuing fine weather. A train strike meant I was limited to a loop from home rather than a one-way walk across to Ilkley.

I headed out across to the corner of Baildon Moor at Birch Close Lane before joining the Dales Way Link path up onto Bingley Moor at Dick Hudson’s. After a small detour to Eldwick Crag, and another in search of some promising butterfly territory, I stuck to the main path onto Burley Moor as far as the Twelve Apostles stone circle (extra).  

It was on the sandy parts of the path that I began to see these Green Tiger Beetles, indeed it’s the only place I’ve ever seen one. Ferocious predators, I watched this one chasing down other insects.

Butterfly of the day was the Wall, of which I saw plenty in ones and twos, but only as far as the lower reaches of Bingley Moor. On the high moor plateau there was no butterfly life whatsoever although plenty of Common Heath moths. but elsewhere I did see Small Copper, Small Heath, Orange-tip, Peacock, Small Tortoiseshell and Green-veined White. Small Heath are only just starting to come out so I’d expect to see more of them around through the summer.

Bird highlights included Lapwing, Curlew, Stonechat, Reed Bunting and Whitethroat. 

Doubling back, I took the spur path to Horncliffe Well, glad to be off the Dales Way motorway, and then the descent to Bingley Road and return along Sconce Lane and back across home.

In anticipation of a long walk I took my walking poles out with me for the first time in a while. I’m usually okay for 6-8 miles but I managed today’s 10 miler without me knee breaking down, and I think the poles played a big part in that. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.