Life through the lens...

By ValC

Choy’s Chinese Restaurant

Back in April 1955, just before my 11th birthday, I had my first trip to London.
One thing I always remember is having my first Chinese meal.
Dad used to go to London on business, and I think he must have been taken here with some business friends.
Soho was not a place you would normally expect my dad to visit being a staunch Methodist and tea total!
He did like his food, and In those days Choy’s was described as the best Chinese food in Britain by Fodor’s Guide.

What you can see in the photo is a page out of my autograph book.
The bottom a photo of Choy’s back in 1956. Centre of the photo with the arched canopy over the door.( photo found on the Internet)

Yesterday, when shopping in a Chinese supermarket in Leeds, a very lovely young couple translated the menu for me.

Prawn dish
Bean sprouts and vegetables
Complicated fried pork dish. ( showed me a photo on her phone!)
Chicken dish
Fried rice.

So mystery solved. Unfortunately one place we won’t be going back to as Choy’s is long gone, but another happy memory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.