pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tears and Twisted Texans

I held her as the weight of everything she has been dealing with lately finally got the better of her and she let go, shoulders shaking as she sobbed into my shoulder.
 
You could be forgiven for thinking that it was LadyV laughing uncontrollably at one of my legendary jokes, but no…
 
I can’t say that I make a habit of hugging my neighbours and had only popped outside to remove some weeds from the front, but this particular neighbour is having a crappy time and really needed it. Her story of heartache and betrayal is uncomfortably familiar with my own and all too well I remember that feeling of just wanting to be held and told that everything was going to be alright.
 
She gave an unnecessary apology as she dried her eyes and jumped into her van with her children and headed off out for the final day of half term. I went back to tidying my front yarden, quietly marvelling at Maurice’s God-given gardening abilities as I enjoyed the peonies and poppies which had chosen to burst forth.
 
Two final blossoms made an appearance in the early evening with a cameo appearance from The Eldest who was off out on a date (!) and a guest starring role from LadyV who was staying for the weekend and was fresh/absolutely knackered from a busy half term with her girls.
 
She had still found time to book us a table at one of our favourite places in Kendal; Pappy’s Texas Barbecue, from whom I thoroughly recommend the Twisted Texan burger. We were surprised to find the place practically empty (aside from a happily tipsy fella who was chatting up the waitresses), but were free to enjoy our drinks and devour our food as we caught up on our gossip from the last couple of days before winding our way home along the river.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.