Living my dream

By Mima

Poorpaw

One of these paws has gone wrong. There is an invisible ailment which is causing Bean to limp when walking, and to lick it incessantly when she’s lying down. Poor girl. 

And she’s milking it for all she’s worth, looking very pathetic at every opportunity, then somehow managing to do everything she wants to do despite the injury.

My best guess is that she’s caught a long elegant toenail and wrenched her toe back, or twisted it. It has happened a couple of times before. I hope it’ll clear up in a couple of days. There will be no walks to speak of until she’s walking properly again. 

That being the case I’ve had an extra hour to potter about in the garden. I’ve been raking up oceans of grass which my neighbour kindly line-trimmed the other day. And I very carefully line-trimmed in the orchard without putting any strain on my hamstring tendon. 

It’s been another beautiful sunny day which started with a third successive sharp frost. There are several more in the days ahead. It is an unusually early sudden plunge into winter. 

Daytime temperatures are in single figures, despite the sunshine. I’m trying be philosophical about mornings being a write off in the garden. The potbelly is coming into its own and I’m working my way through the reading pile.

My current book is “The Library Book” by Susan Orlean (she of “The Orchid Thief”). What a simply marvellous book it is. I am totally enthralled by her tale of libraries and books, all swirling around the events of April 26th 1986 in LA. She’s the kind of author who writes words which resonate deeply with me. I feel literarily inadequate in comparison.

News from the UK has been eventful. The managers of the dementia care home requested that #3 brother be removed from their care by the end of the week due to recurrences of his volatile behaviour which they are unable to deal with. They recommended he is moved to a dementia nursing home where his needs can better be met.

Fortunately heroic #2 brother is down there this week, and within 24 hours of getting the ultimatum he had researched suitable dementia nursing homes, visited a few, identified an ideal one, interviewed - and been interviewed by - the manager, secured a room for #3 brother, and set all the wheels in motion for a move on Thursday. 

Gold stars to #2 brother. He is a wonder.

Thank you so much for all the lovely comments on yesterday’s milestone. And for putting the Blip up there on the top line of the Popular Page. It is a unique community and it’s wonderful to be part of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.