Living my dream

By Mima

Negative Five

It was the fourth successive sharp frost Chez Mima, and the hardest yet at -5C. 

Last winter -5 was as cold as it got, and only on three nights. But given that the frosts have started a month early this year, it seems likely we're heading into a proper cold winter for the first time in getting on for a decade.

The last really cold one I remember was 2012, just after I'd moved into a new place in Oxford (Canterbury, not England) when on June 6th almost a metre of snow fell and drifted into high banks in one windy blizzardy night. I got to know my new neighbours very quickly as we all helped dig each other out of our houses.

Chez Mima thaws slowly in winter thanks to the lay of the land and the high trees to the east which block the sun. The photo was taken at 9.30am, when it was still -4C and the sun was only just shining on the property. 

Bean and I have spent most of the morning enjoying the potbelly stove, after I'd baked a couple of sourdough loaves. That was lunch sorted out. Fresh sourdough with butter is such a good meal. 

I'm blipping earlier than usual and will spend the afternoon behind the line-trimmer. 

The poorpaw is improving noticeably: no doubt as a result of all the positive Blipper vibes. Thank you so much for your love and concern for Bean yesterday. I think we might even manage a short walk.

Today is the day of #3 brother's move to his new accommodation. It's been decided that his best friend will transport him to the nursing home, rather than #2 brother, because he often goes out with his friend which should make it less confronting. We are all crossing our fingers it goes smoothly. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.