Kentboy

By Kentboy

Whitehaven

I hadn't been to Whitehaven for a while and I didn't fancy going a great distance, so Whitehaven it was  I had heard about the orange coloured water and harbour seal.  I never saw the seal, but obviously saw the orange water.  Those in the know believe it comes  from old coal mines.  Apparently it is harmless as tests have been done, but a solution hasn't been found to stop it.  From where I took the  main Blip, there is a culvert where this water comes from.  At one time there were many coal mines in and around Whitehaven.  One of which was Wellington Pit and the white building on the cliff in the third extra is The Lodge entrance to that pit.  You can read about the Wellington Pit disaster on the Internet and on the path that passes it there are sentences describing the work men, women and children did down the mine.
The second extra  shows the two recently upgraded lighthouses.  The furthest one was featured in 'Coronation Street' when murderer Phylan fell into the sea.  For my worldwide Blip friends, Coronation Street is a 60+ year old soap.
Have a good weekend everybody.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.