carliewired

By carliewired

94 F/34 C

Some smoke has filtered
into our valleys last night...
I'm not liking this!

~carliewired

I was out the door at 6:30 . As I backed the car out I disturbed the chukar foursome I keep seeing in the neighbourhood. They ran into a neighbour's yard, then looked about for some further escape. One flew up onto the roof, two scattered into the landscape and one flew up against a window. I got a quick shot of the one on the roof before it ran down the other side and out of view. 

I was across the bridge and up the hill to the newest park we have. The Truck Chilling Park, which opened last fall, is a small collection of heritage vehicles that the city of Kamloops once had in their inventory. Rather than scrap them they have been repurposed and put on display in this small park in the industrial/commercial zone.  There is a 1947 Chevy pickup, a 1949 Federal truck and a road grader that the city purchased back in 1928. The old neon sign from the former Sagebrush Motel is on the back of the Federal Truck. (motel demolished in 2008) The sign is illuminated. The park has some picnic tables and is landscaped with the seasons. 

I stopped to pick up supplies at a store that opens at 7, dropped off some books to a friend's house in the area, then picked up my breakfast and coffee to be home by 8. 

I was not happy for the view I got looking over the city from the top of the hill - smoke!

I'm in for the day. I've already overdone the walking this morning. Now, it's feet up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.