Before Sunrise

Sleep is not to be
found this morning - I go to
find photos instead!

~ carliewired

I was up all too early. I decided that I'd go out for my photos before I made my coffee. There was colour in the east when I stepped out onto my deck at 4:30. I headed off down the hill to catch the bright streak across the sky above Batchelor North.

I drove through Brocklehurst heading for Vantage Point by the airport. I had to stop for a buck and a doe that walked out onto the road. They were wandering the neighbourhood with no regard for the traffic. 

I parked at Vantage Point to catch the expanse of morning colour to the northeast. I walked to the river's edge to see the reflections in the river. There is a large collection of debris around the pilings in the river. It makes its own clatter as the river rushes. I left my quilted heart on the fence beside the Rivers Trail. 

I headed back home, eager for that coffee I'd promised myself. As I turned the last corner near my house,  I startled a group of four chukars
on the roadway. They scattered in all directions scurrying on their little legs. Two jumped into a neighbour's landscaping as they all disappeared. 

I'm home for the day and will try to reclaim my morning's sleep. 

The forecast calls for increasing cloudiness with some showers this afternoon and a high of 21 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.