Sunshine and High Water

I needed sleep more
than I needed photographs
this fine, sunny day!

~ carliewired

I forgot to post the photo of my quilted hearts for this week. These are the ones I released in Wells, Barkerville, Quesnel and here at home. 

My first look at the world was 5 AM on my deck. There was some glorious colour in all the cloud formations. I didn't stay up to see the sun rise. I rolled back for more sleep and woke at 8 AM to go out with my camera. 

As I was driving to McArthur Island, I was listening to the radio which announced the closure of boat launches and low walkways in our city. The rivers have risen considerably so there's great concern about flooding and the dangers of being out on the rivers during high water. 

The slough around the island is quite full now. There's not much to see other than beautiful reflections. The ducks have moved under the trees overhanging the slough. They are difficult to find. The geese have also moved elsewhere. I caught one goose family on the east side of the park as they were herding their teenagers about. 

A look back to the city shows the high level of the Thompson River. There's a lot of debris in the river and it's up on tree trunks. 

The marmots were their usual entertaining selves. A lady sitting on a bench facing the river told me that one marmot came right up on her lap while she was eating her breakfast there this morning. 

Fotor, my collage maker, has failed me this morning. It's left one segment of my collage empty as it would not load a photo there. I tried several times, then gave up in disgust. 

I'm home for the day with no particular plans. I'd like a pot of soup, but I'm making no promises. 

We have a sunny morning with increasing cloud as the day progresses. We can expect a high of 25 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.