Monte Creek

I was late and I 
dawdled...one should not squander
a bright, sunny day! 

~ carliewired

I stayed up late watching an old movie so my start today was not very early. I woke to bright light after 7 and I was out the door by 8.

I had decided I would drive east of the city to the lovely, old wooden church at Monte Creek. St. Peter's Anglican Church sits on a small butte between the South Thompson River and the TransCanada Highway. It was built in 1926 as a memorial by Hewitt Bostock, a local pioneer and rancher. The church is in memory of his son who died in WWI at the age of 23. The building and grounds are lovingly cared for. 

As I turned off the highway I spotted an eagle perched in a pine overlooking the river. I guessed that he had been successfully hunting on the river. 

I parked at the bottom of the road to the church and walked up the shady drive. The yard is surrounded by grasslands, so I found some wild flowers in bloom. The yard is fenced with wooden rails. I got a shot of the fence holding in the sagebrush from the sky. 

I drove back into the city to stop at the quilt store before returning home. I'm in for the day with plans to work on my quilted hearts. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud with a chance of showers this afternoon and a high of 24 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.