Early Sunday Morning

Morning is the best
time for light and surprises -
all before breakfast!

~carliewired

I was up having my coffee before 5 while trying to gauge the weather and the light. There wasn't much for colour on the horizon. I had a thought to drive to Mission Flats along the south shore. Perhaps I could find eagles this morning. 

At my first stop I spied a full-sized tree floating down the middle of the river channel. The river is high and the tree moved along at quite a clip. 

I drove to the end of the road but there were no eagles this morning. I think the river would be a difficult place for them to fish in runoff. The water is muddy and fast-moving. Eagles can probably do better with our lakes until the levels recede. 

At the end of the road I got a view of the delta as the sun was coming into the valley. There are some vehicles along this road that appear to spend the night. It makes me wary and I do not wander around this area. I get my photos and I move on. I headed for home as I hadn't had breakfast yet. 

I was on the home stretch when I spied two lovely does browsing above the intersection just below my house. I was able to stop in the lane, roll down my window and get some shots while in contortions. I was back home by 5:45.

My daughter will be arriving mid morning. Perhaps I can squeeze a nap in before then. We have some projects to work on today. 

We have a mix of sun and cloud today with a high of 23 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.