High Water - Riverside Park

Inclement weather
held me up this morning so
I am late again! 

~carliewired

A big wind came up in the late afternoon yesterday. It whipped the trees around my house and it continued through the night. My security lights on my house flashed on frequently in the dark. I was up at 3 AM to notice. This morning looked rather grim and not inviting for photos. I put myself back to bed after 4 and didn't rise until 8. Not much had improved.

I had a thought to drive to Riverside Park to check out the river level. I parked near the railway bridge and took a short walk around that portion of the Rivers Trail. The river is lapping at the edge of the park and some tree trunks. The water is up near the base of the pier, which has been closed to the public during the park renovation. The city removes the railings on the pier during high water to reduce the problem with debris collecting. It seemed very odd to see a little flock of Canada geese sailing along near the tops of the pilings and the base of the pier. The low spot on the Rivers Trail that goes under the end of the railway bridge is now closed to pedestrians and flooded. 

I had a nice chat with a young man who'd set himself up to fish with his rod. He assured me that there would be fish to catch in spite of the murky, fast-slowing water. I'm still confused about the legality of fishing in a city park, but that's not for me to determine or argue! 

The wild roses along the Rivers Trail here are in full bloom and smelling divine. I had to hold them with one hand to photograph as the wind was relentless. 

I caught the Canadian Pacific train heading north over the railway bridge. It's horn sounded very loud over the water and it looked somewhat perilous on the bridge. 

I have my five quilted hearts ready for release this week. I couldn't find a dry place for one this morning in the park so it will have to go out later today when I locate a better spot. 

I'm home with some jobs to do. Perhaps I can have lunch with one of my kids today. 

We're in for periods of rain today and an expected high of 17 C. The rivers are predicted to peak this week so weather is critical. Everyone is on alert. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.