carliewired

By carliewired

Gaglardi Square

I tiptoed around
- did not disturb his slumber.
I tiptoed away....

~ carliewired

I was out the door at 7:15 and drove downtown to Gaglardi Square. It is named for a former mayor of our city and a provincial politician. Phil Gaglardi had a significant history with the former church featured in this square, now St. Andrew's on the Square. (See blip Oct.12/20) A statue of Mr. Gaglardi greets you at the entrance to the square. 

This morning I thought I would focus on the garden surrounding the fountain and the church. I noticed that the iris were still quite beautiful. The square is surrounded by mature trees and some tall buildings so it is well shaded. The garden is not yet at its best but is well tended by city staff. 

I started taking photos over the stone fence on the east side, then walked under the gateway to focus on the fountain area in the center. As I turned the corner by the statue, there was a person sprawled across a park bench. This discovery altered my plans. I backed out and walked along the sidewalk to take the rest of my photos. 

I was back in my little red bomber in short order. I got my breakfast croissant and coffee to go and was back home in my recliner before 8 AM. I think I set an all-time personal record for myself this morning!

I will be back at my sewing machine today on this cloudy, grey day. My daughter and I have dinner plans for this evening. 

It was 15 C this morning as I left the house. There is a promise of a high today of 28 C and some scattered showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.