carliewired

By carliewired

Breakfast at the Lake

My drive-thru breakfast
was well enjoyed at lake side
on this sunny day

~ carliewired

I was out the door at 7:30. I forgot to shut off my security cameras before I left so I got to view my going and coming later. LOL! 

My first stop was to top off my gas tank. Prices have jumped to $1.45 per litre this week. My second stop was for my breakfast croissant and coffee. I decided I could wait until Monte Lake to enjoy them. It was a beautiful morning, sunny and 15 C so I knew the lake would be the perfect spot this morning. 

My ultimate goal today was the quilt store in Armstrong. I knew I had time to kill before they opened so my stop for breakfast would be leisurely.

I drove into the pullout just off Hwy 97 on the east side of the lake. This is a popular fishing lake summer and winter. The lake is stocked with kokanee (land-locked salmon) and trout. This morning there were several boats already on the lake when I arrived. With my telephoto lens I can watch what is going on in each boat. I didn't see anyone reeling in fish but the day was young. My big catch was the loon that was fishing near my parking spot. 

There is a Canadian National Railway feeder line on the far side of the lake. Recently, it has been in use again. Today a long freight train with three engines moved very slowly along and stopped beside the lake. I have to say the lake looks so much better without it! 

I made my purchase at the quilt store, picked up an order a friend had placed and turned for home. 

My last stop was for wildflowers. This route is often a quiet one, but not so today. I had to be careful where and how I parked to avoid problems. The weather was so agreeable I could not avoid enjoying the drive. We should see a high of 28 C. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.