carliewired

By carliewired

Sunrise and Onward

I let a spatter
of rain discourage me this
morning - so late start!

~ carliewired

I was out on my deck this morning at 5 AM pressed up against the windows out of the rain to take a sunrise photo. I took a read on the weather and decided to roll back into bed having no confidence that the day would improve. I woke up at 9:30 to a lovely day and was very annoyed with myself for having wasted a morning. 

Off I went to Riverside Park. I thought I would get a view of the rivers just as they were about to peak. I walked up the bike path to the Overlander Bridge to best see the space between the river and the bottom of the railway bridge. Compare to November. Not much beach or foreshore now. As I walked along the Rivers Trail I could see over the edge where the water is now lapping on trees making for some interesting shadows and reflections. That one small tree in the channel is hanging on for dear life. 

There is a lot of activity in the park midmorning. The pickleball courts were in full swing. There were no takers for the remaining tennis courts. I bumped into a friend who was riding her ebike into the park in search of a pickleball game. 

 The painters were working in the Uji Garden. I took them by surprise with my camera. We've had so many rain showers in the last week that there were puddles all over. That is unusual for dry Kamloops. 

I found a bench for my quilted heart, although I had to wait for some people to vacate it before posting it. LOL! That's only polite! 


I swung past the Princess Diana rose garden on my way back to the car. There are some lovely specimens just coming on. It looks a little empty at the moment. 

I was pleased to see the city took the responsibility of repairing our vandalized bull statue. See March blip. I take issue with the colour that was chosen. Really. Could they not mix brown?

I was home again by 11:30 with a rain shower arriving just after I did. It was 9 C overnight with a high today of 25 C and we are to expect some light rain showers. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.