carliewired

By carliewired

Bright and Beautiful

After a stormy 
night, the morning arrived so
blue, bright, beautiful!

~ carliewired

I was up before 5 which gave me lots of time to gather up the recycling and get the bin out to the curb. I took a photo of my mountains before 6:30 and was off to get more photos before the grocery store opening at 7. 

My target was the Rivers Trail beside the Halston Bridge. I wanted some views of the North Thompson River. It is looking very full at the moment. The river level is expected to peak this weekend. I walked under both bridges and got a shot of the Railway Bridge looking back at the mountains. I chatted with two ladies out walking their dog on this portion. One told me where I could find eagles nesting. They continued on going north along the top of the dyke. I left my quilted heart at the spot where we met as soon as they were far enough away. 

The city keeps a keen eye on the river levels. A reading is taken daily at the Overlander Bridge where the North Thompson River and the South Thompson River converge. The last major flooding in our city was in 1972. We are well below that at this point. 

Meanwhile, the McLure Ferry is out of service due to the high water level. I was on it recently. (See blip May9/21) It will be available again once the water level recedes. 

I had groceries done, breakfast collected and was home before 8 AM. 

It was 9 C when I left the house and already 12 C when I returned. We can expect a mostly sunny day with a high of 25 C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.