Wells to Quesnel + 108 Ranch

Returning home, we
made a few stops so I could
get some new photos

~ carliewired

We were on our way home today, leaving Wells before 8:30 AM. I was determined to find a bear to photograph on the ways out of Wells. I missed the first one. I drove right past it on the side of the road. My daughter called out, but too late. It was gone. I spied the second one munching dandelions at the side of the road. I screeched to a halt and stuck my camera out my side window. The bear paid no attention whatsoever. I got my shot and we drove on! 

We stopped briefly at Cottonwood House, an historic roadhouse built in 1864. It is one of the last remaining roadhouses on the Cariboo Waggon Road. It existed to give travellers on the road a place to stay, meals and provisions as they journeyed to and from Barkerville. 

I walked in from the parking lot along a portion of the old Cariboo Waggon Road to get a shot of the roadhouse. I hadn't realized that the roadhouse was so close to the river and that there was so much standing water around. It didn't take long for some mosquitos to find me. I got a quick photo of these lovely wild flowers and beat it back to the car. 

I stopped at a high point on the road down to Quesnel to take a photo of the road. It is very much a toboggan run. I'm happy not to have to drive this route in winter. 

We made a brief stop in Quesnel by the two bridges over the Fraser River. The oldest bridge is a wooden truss bridge opened in 1929. It has been retained now as a foot bridge as of 1972 and it is known as the longest wooden truss walking bridge in the world. It's replacement for traffic, the Moffat Bridge, opened in 1970. Between the two bridges, on the south shore of the Fraser River stands an old Cornish Waterwheel. It was from Cottonwood House and is a memorial to the many pioneer miners of the Cariboo Region. Recently, this waterwheel has been restored. I left my quilted heart near the waterwheel between the two bridges. 

My last stop for photos was the historic 108 Ranch on Highway 97. It is a collection of buildings dating back to the 1860s when a log roadhouse was build alongside on the Cariboo Waggon Road. It was later reassembled to this present location. The front porch and railings have just been replaced. The house, which now serves as a museum, was not open today. The clouds opened up just after we arrived so our visit (and photographing) was very short-lived today. 

We were home, thankfully, before 5 PM. I'm happily back in my recliner and may remain so for the rest of the day. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.