Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Art

I was pleased I wasn't the only one thrilled that it was Friday. My new boss said it too, during the short meeting I had with him. It's been a full-on week, so we agreed to re-group on Monday.

Diane came over for coffee around 11. We haven't seen her for a couple of weeks, so it was great to stop and chat. Better still to switch off at the end of the day and head out to Dubai Mall to return a product. The headphones I bought on Monday don't sound that great. It took a while to convince the lady at Jumbo not to charge me the 15% re-stocking penalty. After special approval from the store manager, they agreed when I said I'd buy a phone instead. We'd looked at a phone on Monday night, but the deal was much better today. A set of wireless earbuds, a rucksack, a (men's) wristwatch and some discount vouchers!! Hmmm.

We had dinner in Galeries Lafayette, where a waiter recognised G even though we hadn't eaten there in over two years! I reckon it's a miracle that someone in the service industry has been in the same job for that long. Things change so fast here!

G wanted a safari meal, so we stopped at the Sol Sky Bar for Mai Tai and a fruit platter. It's been a good day. Now I'm setting up my new phone whilst watching the news. Donald Trump's indictment was soon overshadowed by Boris Johnson's bigger news of resigning as an MP! Such drama. The recent remake of Murder on the Orient Express seems quite tame in comparison! :))

My blip is taken in the lobby of the Canopy by Hilton. It's so quirky. I like the true depiction of Dubai Creek on the wall. I have to say, I got told off yet again by a member of staff for using a "professional" camera! Argh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.