A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Through the Pantry Door

Open the door and you will see the inside of the walk-in pantry that my Taxman built from where there once was a wet-bar on the other side of a wall. Walls were removed, as was plumbing, cabinetry, shelving, and carpet. Walls were framed, drywall was hung, taped, mudded and sanded. Oh the memory of sanding dust in every crevice and on every surface has not been forgotten. However, I nearly forgot to blip the finished product. It would be best to link you back to the early demolition and construction, but I'm far too tired to bother tonight.

I got up early, considering it is Saturday, to volunteer at the season opening of our town's farmer's market. I'm a chamber of commerce member and they needed me, so I helped out. It was a great introduction to what the chamber is all about and also how to work as a vendor. I now know how to setup and take down EZ Up canopies. I also know that there are willing joyful people who will lend a hand in the setting up and taking down process. I met Tina and her husband, and discovered that they could be good friends with me and my Taxman. Do you know what I mean? Sometimes you meet people and you just know. I met Shari and Audrey and an Illinois State Representative, that I voted for because my Taxman told me to (what? you don't do that occasionally?). I'm happy with my vote, as it turns out. I met a lot of folks who were excited to see 'the soap lady from last year' back again, even though I told them that I was a new soap lady. How lucky for me that the timing is just right for a new soap lady in Sugar Grove.

I was so inspired that I came home and ordered my EZ Up, folding table and two chairs, so that I'll be equipped to work Saturdays as the new soap lady at the farmer's market starting week after next. Next week my friend Patty, the doctor, arrives for a visit from California - how lucky for me that she arrives just in time to celebrate my first important academic achievement - it took me 20 years to complete - I'm thrilled to be done and I'm sure my annual Christmas letter recipients are as well. They probably thought I'd never ever finish (neither did I). Gosh, what will I write about this year?

My Taxman is sick with a nasty cold, cough, and fever. Wonder how long it'll be before I get it :-). I am quoting a fellow blipper...can't recall who (sorry) but it made me chuckle when I read it awhile back. I'm really much more of an optimist than that. I am. Really. Where's my vitamins?

Today I am grateful that the rain held off and only began to drip slightly as everyone was driving away from the farmer's market. I am also grateful that the other soap lady has left an opening for me. I do hope she is well, wherever she is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.