The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Where to next?

The answer is: none of the above! The Aghanistan book is one I bought so that I can better understand my English-language student's past (he is a refugee from said country). The Crete and Spain guides were picked up from Ron's 20p box in the market. I've had quite a few guide books from him over the years, all useful. 

My next destination (on Sunday, early) is the ferry to Rosslare and the South of  Eire. But there have been changes to the plans. First, we are sailing from Pembroke to Rosslare, not Holyhead to Dun Laoghaire, and our first overnight stop will be in Carlow, not Dublin. 

You might not think this matters, but it does to me. Dublin is my birthplace. It's the first city I ever knew. I have not been back since 1996 (the street where I was born appeared to be full of banks: these were the years of the Celtic Tiger economy) and I was looking forward to seeing it again, however briefly.

But, it's not be. The rest of the itinerary is as planned, but the second shocker was that, when I WhatsApoed my friend D to ask if he was travel-ready, he replied that he was in hospital, at A & E. Apparently he'd tried to walk to town, on the hottest day of the year, and suffered some kind of collapse. Two women rescued him and took him to hospital, whence his stepdaughter was summoned. I await further details.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.