The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Teriyaki chicken on a busy day

Japanese food presentation is superb. Friend D and I went to this restaurant (I've forgotten its name) in Cheltenham, after I had schlepped around in the rain to deliver a magazine rack to his flat. I also got him to fill in his replacement passport application form (at least, I filled it in for him) and his stepdaughter will countersign it, apparently. That is something. He's going on holiday on Tuesday, and is getting worked up about it.

Afterwards we went to a coffee shop and I thought I'd better check the bus timetable on my phone. Discovered my bus was leaving in two minutes. Crikey! I'd already missed one that day, so I ran for it. Caught it, thank goodness. We'd had a narrow miss earlier, on the bus into the town centre, when a vehicle emerging from a property on the left hand side of the road almost smacked into the side of our bus and made toast of us all. Only the driver's quick swerve saved us all. The car driver just can't have been looking. I believe I swore out loud...

Back in Stroud, I ran up to the Shambles market to set up our stalls (we'd loaded the car earlier). When that was done, CleanSteve and I nipped down to the Stroud Artists' Cooperative exhibition in Lansdown Hall. Perhaps I'll go again tomorrow, and photograph one of my favorites. There were quite a few of those. 

Back home, I made a rhubarb crumble. Ate some with yoghurt. Mmm. Got a text saying that I was being charged 90p for not using a gift card that I was given 18 months ago. Damn. Checked my balance. It's now 2 24. Will attempt to spend that in a shop tomorrow. Spent the rest of the evening figuring out how to spend the other two gift cards, 15 pounds each, online. The two cards cannot be combined in one transaction. Delivery costs 2.99 on most orders if they are under 30 pounds. In the end, I placed two orders with the same shop, and paid 2.99 for delivery, twice. Didn't want to risk the cards being charged further admin fees. What a rip off! Please, if you're a friend or a charity, or a boss, don't give anyone One4all gift cards, digital or physical. They are an absolute pain to use. Thousands of reviewers agree with me. However, I'm grateful to those kind people who gave them to me because they looked so good on paper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.