The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Autumn leaf pangolin

...by Ewen Hyde. Yes, it really is made of autumn leaves. It's not for sale. The artist is crazy about pangolins, apparently. I wonder if that's why the famous Pangolin Editions sculpture works along the valley in Chalford is so called. There has to be a connection.

This formed part of an exhibition of paintings and sculptures in St Laurence's church. CleanSteve and I went along to visit after our market had finished. The market itself would have been deadly dull except for my having decided to set up a production line (on a small square card table!) and get on with my catalogue mail-out. This was supposed to have happened in January. CoVid happened instead, and after that Life got in the way. Still, better late...I got thirty packed up and sent off, and there's another thirty-odd to go tomorrow that just need stamping and addressing. This passed the time, and at the end an acquaintance came in, and bought ten cards. She has been seriously ill, but is on the mend, thank goodness.

I walked home (to deliver a catalogue) and then walked around the block to deliver a card. Watched a good drama on BBC called My name is Leon, about a mixed- race boy in Birmingham in the early 1980s, whose single mother is unable to look after him. He and his baby brother are fostered, but then his brother, who is white, is adopted, and the two are separated. The rest of the story focuses on Leon's quest for identity against a background of race riots, the friendships he makes on the allotments, and his determination to be reunited with his baby brother. My verdict ? well worth watching.

Tomorrow, more of the same. I hope for better sales, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.