Everyday Life

By Julez

Bull!

The Rugby last night was once again a major disappointment. The Warriors did seem to be trying, but were not good enough, and there were some silly errors. Yes we do have a substantial injury list - three of the players may not make it back by the end of the season. All three will be either retiring or moving on to another club at the end of the season and as like as not, have played their last game for Wigan. I say get them off the salary cap now and sign someone else who can help fill the gaps they have left. (There may be something to prevent this in the rules, but I'm sure other clubs have done similar before...)

We decided to go out and find Blips early afternoon, and I suggested going to Hubbards Hills at Louth. The weather was gorgeous - the first proper Summer day this year for this area, and it was wonderful to walk around the green, leafy paradise that is Hubbards Hills.

Shortly after we arrived we met a work colleague of Brian's with his partner and two lovely dogs. We chatted a while and they suggested somewhere else nearby that may be better for taking photos today as the park itself was full of families enjoying a paddle in the stream.

We set off to find the place with the large pond and plenty of wildlife that they described, and walked a good long way with no joy... As we walked back towards the main park we saw another path leading to this stile Brian went to investigate, and there was indeed a bull in the field! This is out of order in my view - they are not allowed to forbid people the right to roam along public footpaths, but they can definitely make people unlikely to want to!

This photo was taken on my phone and I've not edited it other than a bit of cropping. While it may not win any awards it is much better than shots of the stile that were taken on my camera!

We watched another good RL game this evening between Warrington Wolves who will be our Challenge Cup opponents next weekend and Huddersfield Giants. Wolves won but it was a well-contested game and Giants ran them very close. I hope we can really turn up and play our best next week - they could be beaten...

Recently I bought a Bosh Vegan recipe book for £1 from a charity shop and tonight I cooked a pasta "carbonara" recipe from it for my tea. It contained ingredients I would not have considered putting together but it tasted exceedingly good!

Time to watch the  Champions League final between Man City and Inter Milan. I want Inter to win, as I do not want City to equal United's Treble!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.