Flossmo

By Flossmo

Dragonfly

It's been a busy, busy day.

I was out and about by 9am to meet my regular Tuesday morning walking friend J and another mutual friend for a walk and talk session. It was reasonably fresh first thing but gradually it started to heat up and by 10 to 10 I was perspiring gently so peeled off leaving the other two to carry on.

I quickly jumped in my car, turned the air con up and drove over to Guildford Cathedral for a face to face meeting of my Zoom writing group. We try and get together in person every now and again for an extended catch up and read of our work. 

When I arrived the cathedral driveway was lined with coaches and my heart sank as I thought the cafe would likely be closed for invited guests only. In the event the coaches had brought year 6 children from a number of local C of E schools for an end of primary school celebration concert. The area was swarming with beautifully uniformed children but the cafe was very quiet - just a few coach drivers taking refreshments. We had a great meeting. Lots of chat, readings and laughter, lubricated with tea and teacakes. They are a great bunch - encouraging and supportive.

Early afternoon I drove home and had a quick bite to eat before we met with the lady who is going to feed Sky when we go away on holiday next month. They got on well and I think she is the sort of person who will stop and make a fuss of the cat, not just throw some food down and go.

On the way out of our house she stopped to look in our small pond and just as we were observing the newts an enormous dragonfly came and landed on a waterlily leaf. We were all agog. I quickly reached for my camera. Google tells me it's an emperor dragonfly and not uncommon in the South of England but it was a first for Mr Flossmo and myself as well as the feeding lady. A lucky encounter for all of us.
      

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.