Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rocky

This red-bellied woodpecker has been living in our woods for several years - I recognize him by the baldish spot on the top of his head, probably caused by an injury.  I have created little stories about how this might have happened - perhaps he got into a pecking contest with another woodpecker and lost; or maybe he escaped a hawk or some other predator.   Whatever the case, it makes him feel like an old friend when I see him - and he has very little fear of me based on how close he was when I snapped this.  

I headed over to a friend's house this morning to let her shoot with my D850.  She is currently using a d7100 (crop sensor) and wanted to try the d850 as she is looking for a new body.  She quickly fell in love with it and by now I think she's probably finalized her order with B&H.  One of the things we did this morning was make sure all of her lenses would fit the lens mount on the d850 - they do.  

By the time I left her house it was raining at a steady rate.  No complaints here as we desperately need the rain.  And it broke briefly this afternoon allowing me to get out and shoot for a little while, so all good.  And tomorrow Jax is headed to day care for he weekly play date/s so I will have a day to myself (and no rain in the forecast for tomorrow!)

I was behind a Mercedes SUV today with a really stupid and offensive bumper sticker something to the effect of "Pro Pipeline - My truck doesn't run on fairy dust and unicorn piss".   Might as well get another sticker that says "And I don't give a flying F*** about climate change or leaving behind a world my grandchildren can live in". Sorry, it hit a nerve with me and while I can understand the humor behind unicorn pee and fairy dust, I don't really see how bragging about one's complete disregard for the planet is anything to feel good about.  I wonder if I am turning into a cranky old lady???

I think dark with ginger today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.