An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Dentist, doughnuts and death....

Backblip

Not necessarily in that order! 

This morning I had my first dental check up (apart from an emergency appointment in 2021) since before covid!  No, I'm not lax at organising my checkups, my dental practice notified everyone saying not to phone for a check-up appointment post covid, instead we would receive a letter telling us when we could book.  Well I waited and waited for said letter.  It didn't come.  Phoned to check and was told oh yes we've been taking appointments for a couple of months now.  It was mentioned on our Facebook page *rolls eyes*  Anyhoo, today was the day.

I really like my dentist (always a good thing :-)  She's had another baby since I last say her and he's now 15 months old!  Full check up including x-rays, scale and polish and a clean bill of health.  She praised me for the good care I've taken of my teeth and said she wished every scale and polish was so easy.  I was as chuffed as a five year old getting given the news!  :-)))

My appointment was 11am and as I'm not great at eating breakfast I hadn't had anything before my appointment and D had cereal at 8am, so since it was almost midday, we were both ravenous.  Now as my dentist is 45 minutes away (I stayed with the practice after we moved from the area as I've been with then since I was 10 and I am registered as an NHS patient with them :-) there was nothing else for it  but to go to Greggs and get hot sausage rolls for lunch and go and eat them at a local beauty spot :-)  

And of course what else must one have when one has just had a clean bill of health from the dentist....yes you're right, a sticky iced jam doughnut #davidmademedoit

Once the hunger pangs were dealt with we headed to the cemetery to lay flowers on my grandparents grave, my great grandparents grave and a great aunt and uncle's graves.  I thought I was organised as I'd taken scissors and water and a rubbish bag for the flower wrappers, what I hadn't taken was a dish to put the flowers in at my grandparent's grave (the others had vases).  There was a vase there pre-lockdown but I suspect the weather has ruined it and it's been disposed of.

Between the ages of 10 and 12 my gran and I used to regularly visit the cemetery on Sunday afternoons, usually during the school summer holidays, and she would take me round the family graves telling me stories of my long dead relatives.  I enjoyed the stories but of course being young, didn't realise how significant these family stories would be to me as an adult.  I've forgotten so many of them.  The majority in fact.  I so wish I had written them down.  I tried to remember some of them today to tell David but alas it as like trying to see a landscape through opaque glass.  My recall was rubbish.

The sun was beating down so we didn't linger for as long as I would have liked but I could feel my arms starting to tingle, despite the liberal application of factor 30 sunscreen so we headed home.  Plus I wanted to finish getting packed for heading off on Friday.

Once home I wasted no time in getting my clothes packed.  D does his own packing so didn't have to worry about him.  Ran out of steam after that so will finish packing my crochet and photography kit tomorrow.  It's a long drive to Salisbury (I HATE  the M6!) so hoping to be away around 9am on Friday.  Alan is heartbroken at us going away - NOT!  Hahahahaha!  Apparently him and the team have lots of plans for while we're away.  

Roast chicken and salad for dinner and completed my Tesco order for Saturday morning.  It's getting delivered to the holiday house early so only have to take a small amount of provisions with us to get us through Friday night.  

For once I feel very organised for going away, which usually means I will forget something important!  Wonder what it will be :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.