A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

Grace rose

A true summer flower Friday blip. The lovely Grace rose. This is it’s second flower.
We’ve two more of these but they are getting swamped in a bed in the back garden, we’re going to have to move them.

Appropriate to use Grace today as she is coming with the girls tonight. Accordingly I had a few jobs to do this morning whilst it was still cool-ish including making cheese scones and popping out to get some petrol and a few last minute buys like strawberries.

After lunch I decided to walk on to the garden centre. Foolish, it was too hot! Even hotter inside as it is essentially a green house.
I bought another Agapanthus. A white one we planted out for the first time had 18 flower heads last year so we thought another, a blue one, would look good near it. We do have two in pots, including Twister which is bicoloured. We may get more but they were all the same and I could only carry one. They will go in the bed where we’ve had lots of forget me nots, tulips and yellow alliums but is now looking a bit sparse. We bought a shrub last year at RHS Bridgewater to fill this gap but it doesn’t seem to be doing much.

I was determined to sit in the shade in the garden with a book and a cuppa when I got back. A rarity!
The book came yesterday, I’d completely forgotten I’d pre- ordered it! It is the Paul McCartney 1964 Eyes of the Storm book showing his personal photographs from that early era of the Beatles success - part of our cultural history for those of us who were young at the time - I was in my last year of primary school!
A most pleasant afternoon and good to make the most of this exceptional weather before it disappears next week, happy weekend everyone!

Eda’s had her school sports day today. John sent us some photos. Not sure what some of the sports were but it was good to see they were all wearing hats. There was a video of a race, she did well but was badly cut up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.