Scarlett O'Hara

By scarlett

Unexpected Gifts

Another day, another cream tea. Today, Flick and I went to Market Harborough.
After tea, charity shop purchasing and book shop rummaging, we popped into the church - mainly to get out of the rain, but also because churches are such good blipportunities.

I noticed this lady in her wheelchair sketching a display of flowers, so I went up to her to take a look. We got chatting as you do, She told me her name was Rho, and she seemed so pleased that I had admired her artwork. She floored me by saying she would really like me to have it, so she tore the sketch out of her book, dedicated it to me and signed it with love.

Having given me one gift, I asked with a tentative heart if she would allow me to take her picture. She beamingly agreed. I felt I had nothing to give her, but occassionally you are just meant to recieve unconditionally.

We said goodbye, and as Flick and I made our way back to the car, it occured to me that maybe I had given her something after all: my time and my interest, little to me, but seemingly a lot to her.

I took lots of blips of our lovely tea, but cream cakes come and go. An unexpected exchange of gifts between strangers is so rare and precious.

Rho, it was an honour to meet you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.