PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Overnight Opening

Isn't Nature remarkable? The first picture in this series is the poppy bud that I photographed last night. This morning it was fully open (and wearing part of its bud-casing like a hat), and the third with the 'hat' removed. I feel as if I'd been up at dawn, I might have watched it opening before my very eyes! 

It's been funny weather today. Rain early on, fine and soft, the perfect sort for penetrating hard, dry ground, lasted only about half an hour, if that. Since, it's alternated between sun and grey nothingness, though still warm. Do hope we get some more rain; the poor plants are so thirsty.

UPDATE: 17:30 It has thundered and now it's raining - huzzah!

I've spent today crocheting - part of a new project that I'm doing in parallel with the lion-squares blanket and the baby jacket. I'm using Sirdar cotton yarn, which has a lovely feel to it. More of this anon, but I'm pleased with how it's shaping up so far.

Nice easy dinner tonight. We're having the second half of a cottage pie that I made yesterday, so only the veg to see to. Oh, and making an apple and blackberry pie. The blackberries are from the freezer, picked last year from the bottom of our garden, reaching over the fence. Judging by the quantity of blossom, there'll be plenty more this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.