PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

Butterflies at last!

Well, a few, anyway. Today's our helping out day at our grandchildren's house. I helped our granddaughter bake cupcakes, from scratch, not a packet mix, after she came home from Football. Then, lots of domestic chores completed, those of us not working and without a dodgy hip got into our daughter's car for her to drive us to the nearby Morkery Woods. First visit there this year. It's super woodland and we saw a fair few cabbage whites in flight. But I was excited to see a Small Skipper - about the size of a blackberry blossom - and even more thrilled when a Red Admiral that, at first, I inadvertently startled away, came back to settle on little Miss B's sunhat. She kept ever so still so that I could take a photo or two, and was absolutely delighted that it had chosen her as a perch. The Young Master observed everything from his pushchair. The only downside to walking in the woods is the presence of less savoury insects. One bit the baby's bare leg and made it bleed, though happily he didn't seem to notice, and I had antihistamine cream in my bag. And something bit my elbow ditto (though it itched before the cream application).

We had a little sit on a half-hidden seat on the way back to the car, i.e. the fourth side of our circuit, and LMB borrowed my phone to take some snaps of her own. A rather repetitive foot-themed selection are in Extras.

It was a long walk and LMB was carried for short spells on some of the uphills by either me or her mum, with the other pushing the pram. I think we shall all be ready for bed tonight. Zzzz....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.